ABOUT EGU The EGU was founded in 1992 by representatives of the gliding associations of Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Its statutes were adopted at the first congress held in Strasbourg on the 1st of October 1993 and updated in 2016. 




The Objective


The aim of the EGU is to be the independent representative of the interests of all glider pilots in Europe with respect to regulatory affairs. 

More and more decisions affecting gliding are taken at a European level by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) in Cologne, by the European Commission or Parliament in Brussels or by Eurocontrol in Bruxelles. 

If the interests of glider pilots are not taken care of now, gliding may find itself paralysed by all sorts of regulations, set up without our presence and often without the decision-makers knowing what gliding really is. 

The EGU therefore strives to let the voice of the 80,000 European glider pilots be heard in these bodies and wishes to be a competent speaker in all discussions and negotiations affecting our sport at this level. 

Subjects with which the EGU particularly concerns itself are the following : 

* airspace and transponders 
* airworthiness and maintenance 
* licensing and medical examinations 
* operations
* environment 

The policy of the EGU on these topics is defined during the Congress Meeting with the member organisations, which is held at least once a year to report and discuss points for future action. 

The EGU is member of Europe Air Sports (EAS), who represents the interests of all European airsports, and is recognized by EASA.

EGU also collaborates with the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale (FAI), in particular with its International Gliding Committee (IGC) and with the Organisation Scientifique Internationale du Vol à Voile (OSTIV).




Full Membership of the EGU is open to the national gliding organisations of the countries of the European Union. Affiliated membership is open to the gliding organisations of other countries.

Full members of the EGU are the gliding organisations of:




Czech Republic









The Netherlands








Affiliated Members are:


the Soaring Society of America

Gliding New Zealand

the South African Gliding Federation

the Vintage Gliding Club.

The registration form can be downloaded here.

For further information concerning membership please contact our General Secretary.



The Executive Board



The EGU Executive Board (since February 2018) consists of:

* Patrick Naegeli, (United Kingdom)  President

* Andy Miller, (United Kingdom) 1st Vice President

* Henrick Svensson, (Sweden) 2nd Vice President 

* Mika Mutru, (Finland) General Secretary

* Robert Danewid, (Sweden) Treasurer

* Ole Gellert Anderson, (Denmark)

* Bernard Hauteserres, (France)

* Jürgen Kubicki, (Germany)

* Andreas Peus, (Germany )

* Howard Torode, (United Kingdom)


* Roland Stuck, (France) Honorary President - Advisor

* Patrick Pauwels, (Belgium) Honorary President - Advisor 


The Technical Officers are


* Howard Torode, Airworthiness and Maintenance

* Henrik Svensson, Operations and Safety

* Andy Miller, Training and Licensing

* Andreas Peus, Airspace and Technology

It is to be mentionned that all members of the Executive Board and all Technical Officers work on a voluntary basis.

The EGU wants to be alert and active. The Executive Board meets about four times per year. Minutes of these meetings are distributed to the members. Technical Officers, who are specialists in the above-mentioned fields, are in contact with the EASA as well as with the national specialists of the member countries.




Copyright Philippe de Péchy http://depechy.free.fr

Copyright Philippe de Péchy http://depechy.free.fr

Copyright Philippe de Péchy http://depechy.free.fr

European Gliding Union. Representative Organisation of European Glider Pilots

Secretariat: EGU c/o FFVV
55, Rue des Petites Ecuries 75010 Paris - France
Tel: +33 1 45 44 04 78 - Fax: +33 1 45447093

Photos Copyright Philippe de Péchy http://depechy.free.fr Website design by Johannes Roussel and Patrick Bantzhaff